Being charged with a weapons offense or gun violation in Ohio can be very frightening. Gun and weapons charges are very serious crimes, and are prosecuted aggressively with harsh consequences. We know the stress you are under, especially if you are at significant risk of prison time if you are convicted. We want to help. Call our attorneys today to discuss the weapons charges you are facing.
If this is your first encounter with the Ohio criminal justice system you are probably filled with fear and apprehension, unsure of who to turn to. We know that this is a scary time and want to help you through it. Having an attorney you trust in your corner can reduce your anxiety level significantly. Knowing you have someone looking out for your interests is a tremendous help.
I’m sure you know you may be facing stiff penalties for Ohio gun offenses and we want to help in any way we can. Whether your actions were misinterpreted or you made a mistake you now regret, we can help your side of the story get heard.
Ohio Gun / Weapons Laws
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
Although some people are licensed to carry a concealed weapon, the majority of us are not. If you are caught knowingly carrying a deadly weapon or handgun that is concealed on you or concealed within reach you may be charged with this offense.
Typically this offense is a 1st degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines of up to $1,000.
However if the weapon is a firearm and it is loaded or has ammunition within reach, the offense is elevated to a 4th degree felony punishable by 6-18 months in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Likewise if this is not your first concealed weapon charge or if you have been convicted of a violent crime in the past, you will also be charged with a 4th degree felony.
Ref: ORC 2923.12
OH Using Weapons While Intoxicated – Laws & Penalties
If you are under the influence of alcohol or any drug you cannot legally carry or use any firearm. If you are caught using or carrying a weapon while under the influence you can be charged with this 1st degree misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and fines reaching $1,000.
Ref: ORC 2923.15
OH Improperly Handling Firearms in a Motor Vehicle – Laws & Penalties
There are several aspects to this law that govern how a firearm can be handled in a vehicle. You may be charged with this offense if the prosecution believes it can prove that you:
- Discharged a firearm while in or on a motor vehicle
- Transported a loaded firearm in a way that it was immediately accessible to the driver or a passenger without them having to exit the car, or
- Transported a firearm unless it was unloaded and was:
In a closed box or case,
In a compartment that can only be reached by exiting the vehicle, or
In plain sight and in a gun rack.
The charges that apply to these offenses are very complex and can be confusing to just about anyone. You may be facing anywhere from 1st degree misdemeanor charges to 4th degree felony charges.
There are many things taken into consideration when determining what level of offense you will be charged with. The best way to determine what kind of sentence you will be facing is to have a qualified attorney evaluate your case.
All of the circumstances surrounding the incident that led to your charge as well as your criminal history and state of mind at the time of the offense all play a role in your case.
Ref: ORC 2923.16
Get Legal Defense Help with Ohio Gun & Weapons Charges
Weapons offenses are taken very seriously by the courts of Ohio. To get the best possible outcome in your situation, you need legal counsel as soon as possible. Many defense options must be explored early in the process, or you could lose the opportunity to challenge the evidence against you. Please call our defense lawyers to discuss your Ohio weapons charges today.