If you are facing a second offense drunk driving / OVI charge in Ohio, then the stakes have become much higher. If you have been convicted of an OVI (DUI) in the past, you stand to face much harsher penalties for a 2nd or greater offense.
Often, with prior offenses, fighting the case in court makes sense. You are facing a serious license suspension for pleading guilty, so the downside to challenging your case in court may not be great.
And these cases can be won.
Of course, we also help people work out plea arrangements on 2nd offense and greater OVI charges. If you feel you guilty and really regret the actions that led to this latest charge, that may make sense. You are probably wondering how you could have let this happen again.
These charges are frightening to most people. But know that there is help available. Having an experienced DUI defense attorney on your side can relieve much of the stress you feel. It is a great comfort to know that your rights are being protected by someone who knows what they are doing. We have represented people in your situation time and time again. We know what you are up against and want to help you through this.
Call us for a consultation to find out how we can help you in a difficult situation like this.
Ohio OVI Penalties – Second Offense
If you are convicted of a 2nd offense OVI in Ohio, you face the following penalties:
- 10-180 days jail time
- $300-$1,500 in fines
- 1-5 year driver’s license suspension
The new Ohio drunk driving law, Annie’s Law, takes effect on April 4, 2017.
The new law:
- Allows judges to impose an ignition interlock device in exchange for a reduced license suspension period.
- Increases the “lookback period” for any previous drunk driving offenses to 10 years, from 6 years previously.
Ohio OVI Penalties – Third Offense
If you are convicted of a 3rd offense OVI in Ohio, you face the following penalties:
- 30 days-1 year of jail time
- $500-$2,500 in fines
- 2-10 year driver’s license suspension
Ohio OVI Penalties – Fourth Offense
If you are convicted of a 4th offense OVI in Ohio, you face the following penalties:
- 60 days-1 1/2 years of jail time
- $750-$10,000 in fines
- from 3 years to lifetime driver’s license suspension
Many other penalties are also likely, including probation, alcohol education and substance abuse classes, community service, and more.
Ref: ORC 4511.19
**In addition to the above penalties you may face immediate and permanent forfeiture of your vehicle. Once released from jail you will likely be placed under house arrest, particularly if this is your 3rd or greater offense.**
Judges can adjust your sentence depending on a variety of things. They will not only take your criminal history into consideration but also the circumstances surrounding your arrest and your level of intoxication.
Felony OVI Charge
An Ohio OVI is considered a felony offense if you are charged with a 4th offense within the previous 6 year period (soon to be 10 years, under Annie’s Law). Felony convictions typically carry penalties of more than 1 year in prison.
Free Consultation on A 2nd Offense DUI/OVI Arrest in Ohio
In Ohio, DUI/OVI laws are constantly changing, and nearly always for the worse. It is important that you consult with an experienced Ohio DUI attorney to know exactly what you are up against.
You need to be prepared for the option to fight your case, and also to understand the future consequences of a guilty plea and what a drunk driving conviction on your record can mean for your future.
Call for a consultation on your OVI charge today.