A burglary charge has the potential to change your life forever. This isn’t a minor criminal charge. On the contrary, you could be going to prison for several years if convicted. Fortunately, we may be able to help.
No two cases are the same, even when they both feature burglary charges. You need someone on your side that will give your case the individualized attention it deserves, someone who is interested in getting you the best results possible.
Burglary is a serious offense and one that the courts of Ohio often dole out severe sentences for. If you are accused of burglary, whether you admit guilt or not, you have every right to be nervous.
Ohio Burglary Laws and Penalties
Ohio laws feature a few different statutes governing burglary and its related penalties. While this page can provide you with an overview of them, consulting with an attorney is the best way to know for certain what you are up against.
Breaking and Entering
If you are accused of trespassing in an unoccupied structure with the intent to commit any theft offense or other felony, you could face charges of breaking and entering. This is a Felony of the 5th degree and carries a potential 6-12 months in prison and $2,500 in fines.
Ohio Burglary Charges
The exact penalty you face for a burglary charge depends on a number of factors. The facts of your case along with the evidence against you will determine whether you are charged with a felony of the second, third, or fourth degree.
Second Degree Felony Burglary charges apply when you are accused of trespassing in an occupied structure when someone else (other than an accomplice) is present, with the intent to commit any criminal offense. This charge carries 2 to 8 years in prison and fines reaching $15,000.
Third Degree Felony Burglary charges can be levied against you if you are accused of trespassing in an occupied structure with the intent of committing any criminal offense. This charge carries 1 to 5 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Fourth Degree Felony Burglary charges apply when you are accused of trespassing in a permanent or temporary dwelling (home) of any person when someone (other than your accomplice) is present or likely to be present. If convicted of this offense, you could face a penalty of 6 to 18 months in prison and $5,000 in fines.
Aggravated burglary is the most serious burglary offense. It applies when you are accused of trespassing in an occupied structure when someone (other than your accomplice) is present, with the intent of committing any criminal offense, and:
- You inflict, attempt to inflict, or threaten to inflict physical harm on another, or
- You have a deadly weapon under your control.
This offense is classified as a felony of the first degree and carries 3 to 10 years in prison and $20,000 in fines.
As you can see, the laws regarding burglary offenses in Ohio are very severe. If you are charged with an offense like this, contact our offices for a free consultation today.